Tags

, ,

Day 1 and 2 –

Another Viva Las Vegas has come and gone.  This year we headed to sunny Las Vegas on April Fool’s Day.  After a ridiculous 3 am wake up call for a 7 am flight we sleepily landed in Vegas at 830 am…. ya know, when most people in Las Vegas are going to bed.

Luckily we were able to get into our hotel rooms and unpack before our Canadian friends landed at 1030 am.  By noon we were full of lunch and on our way to go vintage shopping!  I’ll have another post with our Viva goodies later but Lucas and I both found some fun things.  Before heading back to the hotel we stopped at the infamous Frankie’s Tiki Lounge and each had a STRONG tiki drink.  I only drank half of mine and I was a liiiiittttllleeee loopy.  Thankfully it wore off before I went into Trader Joe’s for groceries.

DSC_9309 DSC_9274 DSC_9073 DSC_9060

Thursday we headed out to hit up a few of the vintage shops we didn’t get to on Wednesday as well as the Charleston Antique Mall.  Our friend Lisa from Minneapolis landed right before we were heading out the door so she tagged along too.

DSC_9543 DSC_9552

Thursday afternoon we dropped Julie and Lisa off at the hotel and met up with Mae and her boyfriend Shawn for lunch at a 50’s diner in the Stratosphere.

We made it back in time to change and hit up the Hooch N’ Smooch. The Hooch N’ Smooch is the official kick off of Viva.  It’s a meet and greet with “Hello My Name is” stickers and bands.  Thursday is also the opening of the vendor rooms.  Lucas and I went to bed early (10) on Thursday – I wasn’t feeling too hot.  I think staying awake for 22+ hours on Wednesday did me in!  Julie stayed up for a couple of bands she said were some of the best of the weekend – the Go Getters and Mike Bell and the Belltones.

DSC_0113 DSC_0045

DSC_0341

Stay tuned for upcoming posts on my outfit details, shopping spoils, and days 3 and 4!

*photos courtesy of Julie Abnet (www.jabnetphotography.com)

