Lucas’ birthday happened to fall on Sunday while we were at the Shake Up.  My friend Big Sandy was the headliner Saturday night (which meant he would be playing into the morning of Sunday).  I asked him weeks before the Shake Up if he would give Lucas a birthday shout out.  He more than obliged!  Big Sandy saw us in the hallway before the show and gave Lucas a hand shake and birthday greeting (which that alone surprised him).  I figured we were all done with birthday shout outs until I found myself being pulled on stage by Mr. Big Sandy at the end of his set around 130 am – I wished Lucas a Happy Birthday in front of probably over 500 people and then Big Sandy followed with a Happy Birthday serenade.  Then the next thing I knew our favorite rockabilly DJ Del Villareal came walking out with a piece of birthday cake and a candle (I did NOT arrange that!).  Lucas was speechless I think!

GetInline-11

GetInline-12

IMG_5457

And I wasn’t done yet.  Sunday morning we went to Cracker Barrel for birthday pancakes.  Then Sunday afternoon we had a little surprise party in Julie’s room.  I had ordered a birthday cake from a local and delicious bakery called the Publick House.  HUGE THANK YOU to Julie for helping me arrange this little surprise.  I think Lucas was more surprised by that then the Big Sandy shout outs.

GetInline-13

Happy Birthday Lucas!  Mwah!

