Day 26, Sunday: Something you read online. Leave a link and discuss, if you’d like.

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/suffer-the-children/201203/why-french-kids-dont-have-adhd

I found this super interesting.  Let me start this out by saying I don’t want kids – I am not parent material.  I do not have the patience for children.  So I am by no means an expert on parenting but I am a keen observer.  I definitely think that Americans are very quick to label things (ADHD, ADD, “fibromyalgia”, etc.) and I think they want the label so they can get a drug to “fix” it.  I also think that the junk kids (and even adults) consume is a HUGE contributer to behavioral and health problems in America.   I would just encourage parents to look into other options before they give their children medication for behavior issues – unfortunately medications often have side effect that require more medications.

 

