On Christmas Eve my friend Katy and I went to a little cafe’ in NE Minneapolis called ‘Nuff.  I ordered “Warm Granola with yogurt and berries”.  Granola w/ yogurt and berries is often my go to breakfast order when I want something lighter than a dozen eggs, loaf of toast and mountain of pancakes.   Let me preface this by saying I hate oatmeal.  I don’t know why – I’ve tried it soupy and thick and chunky – can’t do it.  I don’t mind it in other things – cookies, muffins, meatloaf, etc.  So this is why I was a little nervous about the “warm” part – I didn’t know if it was going to be toasted warm or oatmeal warm.  It was neither! OMG I loved it and knew I needed to recreate it at home.

So after some internet research this is what I did – I put about 1 cup of granola (I used a Pecan Praline Granola from Trader Joe’s) in a bowl.  Add about 1/2 cup of milk (I used almond milk) – microwave for 30-45 seconds.  If you want it runnier add more milk and microwave a bit longer.  I found that my 45 seconds worked perfectly.  The granola was warm, just a little sticky and so yummy.  I topped it with a dollop of vanilla Greek yogurt and blueberries.  And I am stuffed – since I ate so late this will probably last me until close to dinner (I may need a piece of fruit somewhere in between for a snack)!   This may be my new favorite breakfast!  The calories clock in around 600 but I’m not too worried about it because it also clocks in with 24 grams of protein – I won’t be hungry for quite awhile.  And those 600 calories are QUALITY calories.  I’m not eating junk or empty calories.

IMG_1503

Enjoy!

