Tags

,

Anyone else in a post Christmas coma?  Too much sugar, too much junk, too many carbs.  Sound familiar?

We are rebooting our diets in 2013.  Yes I lost 80 lbs but I’ve gained about 10 lbs back since my lowest weight and 5 lbs back just this holiday season.  Time to get rid of that 10 lbs again (hopefully in time for Las Vegas in March).  Lucas and I watch too many food documentaries on Netflix and thus we cut way back on meat quite awhile ago.   The main way to describe our current diet is this:

536280268097511868_hC8QOtE2_c

Add to that dairy and eggs.  We’re going to try our best to continue to follow this.  Believe what you will but from the multitude of documentaries (“Forks Over Knives”, “Food Inc”, “Vegucated”, and “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”) I’ve seen and books I’ve read Americans as a whole eat too many animal products (i.e. meat, eggs, dairy/cheese).   As the consumption of animal products goes up in a country so does the heart disease, cancer, etc.   Since I’ve changed my diet almost 4 years ago, we don’t eat alot of meat in our house.  Occasionally we have chicken and salmon – red meat is a rarity.  We’ve even taken to eating veggie burgers in the summer.  So I guess we’ve been “flexitarians” for quite some time – even before the term (and cookbook) came about.  I could never go totally vegan because I like cheese and eggs too much.  That being said I will limit my consumption of both.

So on top of following a 90% vegan diet, we will continue juicing (I’m telling you – watch “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”), I’m going to add 5-10 min a day to my elliptical routine (currently I do 20 min on the elliptical, 100 sit ups and 15 push ups every morning at 530 am) and we’re taking swing dance class once a week starting Jan 2.  I also want to look into kettlebells.  Hopefully those 10 lbs come off in the next 3 months.

I started a group on Facebook called PinUp Fit – if you want to join let me know and I’ll add you to the group.  It’s a private group of ladies who share recipes, work out tips and encouraging words.

Happy 2013 everyone!

